The Divergent trilogy (also known as The Divergent Series) is a series of three young adult dystopian/science-fiction books by Veronica Roth and published by Katherine Tegen Books. It is set in the future of a dystopian Chicago. The society is composed of five factions, where members of each faction dedicate themselv1947550 828047637222140 396140436 nes to the cultivation of a particular virtue. DivergentInsurgent and Allegiant.

Divergent hq       DIVERGENT – THE FIRST BOOK


The first book of the trilogy was released on April 25th, 2011.

Beatrice Prior, the main character lives in a world of dystopia where society is divided into five factions. Each faction dedicates themselves to the cultivation of a particular virtue— Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). During the Choosing Ceremony which happens once a year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. Beatrice joins Dauntless and leaves her family behind while at the same time learning about a dangerous trait she has, Divergence. Beatrice renames herself “Tris” as the highly competitive initiation ensues. In the end, she completes initiation and is accepted into the faction. The world is thrown into chaos however, right after initiation when Erudite takes control of Dauntless and wages a war on the rest of the factions resulting in near annihilation of Abnegation with the help of her so-called friend, also known as her soon to be boyfriend, Four, who you will eventually know as Tobias from the faction of Abnegation. His father was a council member just like Tris’s father.

IMG 5813



The second book of the trilogy was released on May 1st, 2012.

One choice can transform you-or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves–and herself–while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love. Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable–and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

Offical-Allegiant-Cover       ALLEGIANT – THE THIRD BOOK


Allegiant, the final book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent Series, was released on October 22, 2013.

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s